Pizza Dough and Weekend Things

Last week I posted about having a make your own pizza party, where I had the opportunity to try and perfect my various pizza dough recipes.  I wrote up the recipe for the thin crust, neapolitan style dough, and wanted to also share the recipe for the thicker crust, American style dough.

photo (2)

I’ve been using the relatively same thin crust recipe for a while now, and have been tinkering with how I cook it more than anything.  I have probably tried enough thick crust dough recipes to make a NCAA style bracket with them.  I think if I did that, this one would eventually come out the winner.  As I mentioned in last weeks post, I found the original recipe on Reddit from a post on r/pizza, and have since tinkered with it a bit.

Most weekends I make a few things, so new, some not.  I’ve considered making separate posts each week for the things I’ve made that I have posted recipes for before.  Perhaps I’ll start that in the future, but for now I’ll just bundle it into this post.  Yesterday I made a whole wheat sandwich loaf and some pita.  Only a few of the pita puffed up completely (still figuring that recipe out I suppose), but they still tasted quite good.


photo (1)

Thick Crust Pizza Dough (Makes 3 crusts)

Ingredients

  • 5 1/4 cups flour (AP or bread)
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 2 1/2 t instant yeast
  • 3 T sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups water (may need extra, start with this)

Directions

Mix everything together.  If you have a stand mixer it should knead about 7-8 minutes, about 10-12 minutes by hand.  This dough will start out quite tough.  I’d recommend kneading for 4-5 minutes, letting it rest for 10 minutes, and then finishing.
Place in a lightly oiled bowl and cover, let it rise for 1 hour.  I find this dough to be absurdly fast rising, because the higher than usual sugar/oil amounts.  After 1 hour, punch it down and let it rise for another hour.After the second hour it is ready to go.  I usually shape this with a rolling pin, which is often a big no-no with pizza dough.  I find that this dough is so active that it will still get nice and bubbly and chewy either way.Bake in a 500 degree oven for 7-8 minutes, rotating halfway through.
If you have a pizza stone you want it on the lowest rack possible (closest to the heating element), and it should preheat in the oven for about 45 minutes.  If you don’t cooking it on a baking sheet will work just fine.

 

Leave a Reply

