Sweet Potato & Cardamom Roti

I’ve been making a lot of flat breads the past few weeks.  A few weeks ago I made a second attempt at pita, and last week I made tortillas.  We ate those, and last Monday I made about 30 more tortillas in an attempt to pass the time before the national championship game started.  My hope is to make enchiladas with some of those this weekend.

I remembered that one of the books my fiancée’s parents got me for Christmas had a lot of great flat bread recipes, so I went looking for one to make.  We made chicken tikka masala and I thought this roti went well.

DSCN1687I think if I were going to do this again I’d try and roll them out a bit thinner, but otherwise it is a super simple recipe to follow/make.  These tasted incredible and I will definitely be making them again!

DSCN1671

Here’s an extra picture of the mountain of tortillas I made Monday night.

Tortillas

Sweet Potato and Cardamom Roti

Ingredients

  • 1 medium (about 3/4 lb) sweet potato
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Seeds from 1 cardamom pod, ground (about 12-15 seeds)
  • Water, if necessary

Directions

Boil the sweet potato in a small pot until soft, about 30 minutes.  Microwaving for about 10 is also an option (what I did).  Make sure to prick the potato with a fork before microwaving.

Once cooked, peel the potato and puree in a food processor.  Gradually add the flour, sugar, salt, and ground cardamom.  Once combined turn out onto a floured surface and knead for 2 minutes.  If the dough does not fully come together, add water until it does.

Place in a bowl and cover.  Let it sit for 30 minutes.

Divide the dough into 8 equal pieces and roll each piece into a ball.  Flatten each dough ball and roll out on a floured surface with a rolling pin.  Each roti should be about 7-8 inches wide.

Head a cast iron pan over medium-high heat and lightly oil.  When hot, place one roti in the pan and let cook for about 30 seconds.  Flip, and let cook for another 2 minutes.  The roti will start to puff after the first flip.  Cooking time varies as the pan gets hotter, so keep a close eye and use your best judgement.

Serve warm and brush with melted butter if desired.  Enjoy!

Recipe from HomeBaking: The Artful Mix of Flour and Tradition Around the World

One thought on “Sweet Potato & Cardamom Roti

  1. Pingback: Chicken Enchiladas | Bakers & Best

Leave a Reply

