This Apple Galette Runs A Better Offense Than Al Borges

Last week’s Michigan football news is just as sweet (if not more so) than this simple apple pastry.  Al Borges was let go as offensive coordinator and promptly replaced by Brad Nussmeier from Alabama.  Perhaps it is poor form to so excitedly celebrate someone losing their job, but anyone who has watched Michigan’s offense implode the past two seasons knows that this change was long overdue.  And equally exciting, it’s no longer -40 degrees here!  No need to designated Celsius or Fahrenheit, since apparently -40 is the same on both scales.

DSCN2746

But don’t think that I’ve just been sitting around the past few weeks waiting for Al Borges to be fired and writing clip show style blog posts (I’m actually pretty excited about what I created for last week).  I’ve been experimenting with some of the recipes in Chad Robertson’s newest book and tried my hand at a new type of pastry.  A galette is somewhere between a pie and a tart and offers qualities that I like about each.

A galette is more or less a free form tart made with a pie crust.  My favorite thing about pie is the buttery and flaky crust, and I enjoy the whole fruit filling more typical of a tart.

DSCN2747

If you haven’t made a pie or tart before I think this would be a great place to start.  It’s exceptionally easy and tastes incredible.  Fresh out of the oven the top crust is perfectly crisp and nicely caramelized.  I made it early in the morning but this is quick enough that you could start it after dinner and eat about 90 minutes later.

DSCN2749

The hardest part about this for me?  Arranging the apple slices nicely.  I tried and tried to get one of those perfect spiraled shapes but couldn’t for the life of me.  I came close (ish) in the end, but I suppose that gives me something to work on next time I make one.

DSCN2756

I did this free form on a baking sheet but you certainly can make it in a tart pan if you have one.  If it manages to last more than one sitting I recommend reheating in a toaster oven before digging in again.  Enjoy!

Apple Galette

Ingredients

Dough

  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons cold water

Filling

  • 3 large apples (peeled, cored, and sliced)
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Directions

In a bowl of a stand mixer add flour, sugar, salt, and butter.  Using the paddle attachment (or a fork if you don’t have a mixer) mix until the butter has been broken down to small pieces.  Gradually add in water until the dough barely forms a solid ball.  Flatten the dough into a 4 inch disk, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and roll the dough out to a 12-14 inch circle.  The dough will be fairly thin, about 1/8 inch thick.  Transfer to a parchment lined baking sheet and preheat oven to 400°F.

Arrange apple slices in concentric rings on the dough, leaving 2 inches of empty space from the edge.  Once all apple slices have been place fold the outside edges of dough toward the inside over the apples.

Brush the melted butter over the apples and dough and sprinkle sugar over top.  Bake for 40-45 minutes, until the crust has reached a golden brown color.

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen.

Leave a Reply

